Seil Chat

    A forum for Seil, Luing and Easdale
Seil Skiff Project







It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:24 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help please?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:07 pm
Posts: 12
Couple of things I am experiencing problems with and could do with some helpful advice if possible please:

Originally on BT pay as you go at home - some time ago changed to BTYahoo internet and broadband came to town. When connected to the internet a pop up box with my OLD BT Pay as you go "connect" comes up, I press X to get rid of it but it reappears at odd intervals - it was a nuisance but now the latest is that I keep getting timed out on internet - sometimes after only about 5-10 mins - tools show I'm working offline - I check the Work Offline so that I should NOT be working offline but it keeps doing it - I have to log out, leave it ten mins and then log back in to get connected again. Very frustrating if compiling an email, currently having to save as doc in word and paste it quickly into email before I lose connection again. Saving it as draft often won't work in email. Must I really call BT Broadband and try and go through the motions or am I as a non technie doing something daft please?
Thank you
Eagerbeaver


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help please?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 5:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:18 pm
Posts: 2539
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land (or so I'm told by some)
.
EB, how is your modem/router connected to your PC? Is it a USB connection or an ethernet connection?

An ethernet connection will give you an 'always on' connection. Some USB broadband modems still (irritatingly) simulate dial-up sessions. Ethernet is the way to go if you have an ethernet port on the modem/router.

_________________
NickB
(site admin)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help please?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:07 pm
Posts: 12
Very many thanks for your response - it's a USB connection - I will check for an ethernet connection port (hope I know what I'm looking for !!).
Thanks again, heartening to know this can be a problem for others that you are aware of and its nothing specific to incorrect set up (which I spent ages on the line with BT guy originally because they had sent me the incorrect router first time!).
Cheers
EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help please?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:33 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:18 pm
Posts: 2539
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land (or so I'm told by some)
.
An ethernet port looks a bit like a chunkier phone socket - here's a couple of pix, one showing the plug on the end of the lead:

Image ....... Image

If you need an ethernet cable you will be ab le to get one from Matrix in town.

If your router only supports USB you might want to consider getting another one.

_________________
NickB
(site admin)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Help please?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:07 pm
Posts: 12
ah ha - instructions by pictures, very helpful - now that's my kind of technology! - thanks again, will let you know how I get on !
EB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group