Seil Chat

    A forum for Seil, Luing and Easdale
Seil Skiff Project







It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:09 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cookies
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 10:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
I'm having a big problem with secure sites. This might have happened at the time I downloaded a security update from microsoft - I know this update was flawed, and I downloaded the patch for it. My problem might have nothing to do with this, though.

I can't now get onto secure sites, I just get 'page not found'. Some sites tell me I have not got cookies enabled. As far as I can see, my security settings are set to allow all cookies.

WinXp Pro, IE6, OE.

Hope somebody can advise.

Thanks
Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Use Restore
PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 1:13 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:18 pm
Posts: 2540
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land (or so I'm told by some)
Hi Pat,

I suggest you restore to a restore point before you downloaded the suspect security patch.

- Nick 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 1:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
Thanks for the reply, Nick. How will I know which date to choose? Will there be a date somewhere saying when I installed it?

Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: XP System Restore dates
PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 12:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:18 pm
Posts: 2540
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land (or so I'm told by some)
Go to System Restore from Start . . . Accessories . . . System Tools

Select 'Restore my Computer to an Earlier Time' and click 'Next'

You are now in a little calendar app. All the dates in bold are restore dates. Single clicking on a bold date will tell you what it is. It may just be a System Checkpoint, but some of them will have been created when you installed new software or updates. Have a look through and you might be able to find this.

The other cause of missing cookies might be some sort of adware or spyware blocker which is blocking cookies from some sort of blacklist - are you running anything like this?

Hope this helps,

Nick 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 1:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
Thanks for your help, Nick.

I had installed spyware blaster some time ago, and removed it a week or two ago. It left a trail, though, of all the sites it had blocked, including yahoo which has now amalgamated with BT. I removed all of them and the problem seems to have been solved apart from one secure site.

The weird thing is that I only get a problem using the BT dial up, if I use Freeserve there's no problem at all.

Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: cookies
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 5:52 pm 
remove last M/S update if you have NORTON installed this wil look after any security problems then go to systems restore any day before you downloaded the update then check the sites you were not able to get while the update was installed that way you will eliminate one problem
(don't accept everything that M/S say is good for you I know from bad experiences) let me know how you get on then we can take it a step further.

DOUG


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
No, I don't use Norton.
Would that be the only one to cause problems?

Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
Wait a minute, I misread your reply.

I'll go look for the updates.

Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 120
Location: Seil
I didn't bother in the end. As soon as the exchange is activated for broadband I am going to ditch BT. It seems to have gone to the dogs since it joined up with yahoo. I have a Freeserve account, and there are no problems at all with that one.

Thanks for your help anyway - I know where to come if there are any more glitches!

Pat

_________________
Pat Blunsden


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group