Seil Chat

    A forum for Seil, Luing and Easdale
Seil Skiff Project







It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:44 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:00 am
Posts: 3
Hi, I hope you can help me. I am having problems with the executable files on my laptop. Every time I try to access a programme it keeps asking me to choose a programme to run it on. I can't even access system restore. I contacted the makers of the laptop and they have told me I have to run the original disc to restore it back to the original settings. That is fine, but I have tried copying everything onto disc so that I do not loose anything and some files will not copy onto the discs. Is there anyway of sorting this out without loosing everything I have stored on my laptop.
Many Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:18 pm
Posts: 2540
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land (or so I'm told by some)
Sponge Bob wrote:
Hi, I hope you can help me. I am having problems with the executable files on my laptop. Every time I try to access a programme it keeps asking me to choose a programme to run it on. I can't even access system restore. I contacted the makers of the laptop and they have told me I have to run the original disc to restore it back to the original settings. That is fine, but I have tried copying everything onto disc so that I do not loose anything and some files will not copy onto the discs. Is there anyway of sorting this out without loosing everything I have stored on my laptop.
Many Thanks

Hi SB

Here's a few suggestions to try first:

This was almost certainly caused by a virus or malware programme , so the first thing to do is get rid of it. You need to download and run Malwarebytes Anti Malware, but you probably won't be able to from a normal boot.

Try this first : start your laptop in Safe Mode (press F8 repeatedly while the machine is booting up to get the boot menu then select Safe Mode With Networking) then go to HERE and try to download Malwarebytes. If it downloads and installs, update the database and run a Quick Scan. Remove anything it finds, reboot the machine normally and see if the problem is resolved.

If you can't download Malwarebytes like this download it to a memory stick from a friend's machine, start your laptop in Safe Mode and then try to install MWB frm the stick and run a scan.

If neither of these work then see if you can access System Restore from Safe Mode and go back to a time before all this started.

If none of these work then post again here or PM me. Don't give up yet, there is a good chance the situation can be retrieved.

_________________
NickB
(site admin)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group