Seil Chat
http://seilchat.co.uk/

Vodafone suresignal
http://seilchat.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1872
Page 1 of 1

Author:  NickB [ Sat Aug 15, 2015 9:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Vodafone suresignal

.
Vodafone have confirmed they will set up the five Open suresignal sites on Seil.

Contracts for all locations (TnT, Surgery, Balvicar Stores, Cuan Ferry and the Hall) have been signed and returned.

Planning for all has been approved.

Author:  NickB [ Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

.
As a follow-up to this - I took out a contract with Vodaphone and now have a suresignal. It works perfectly and if I am round at friends' houses and they have a suresignal I can use it there as well (provided they have registered my number, which takes a few minutes online).

Once the Open SureSignal boxes are set up I will be able to get a signal most of the time, and if I don't have one I will know where to go. Looks like this has been a smart move by Voadafone - they should get a few new contracts out of it.

(The suresignal is £100 and connects via Ethernet to your broadband router)

Author:  NickB [ Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

.
Apparently new BT lines to the five locations should be finalised this week.

Installation of the SureSignal equipment is likely to take to place week beginning 30 November.

Author:  Allan Coutts [ Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

Vodafone have now reduced the price of the Sure Signal to £65. I ordered a replacement for mine last month and they took my money but one week later when it had not arrived they admitted that they have none in stock. It took an email to the CEO to eventually get them to agree to provide it free (if it ever comes back into stock) but meanwhile I bought a new one on eBay for £50 and free postage. Quite a good deal as its still covered by the vodafone 2 year guarantee and well worth having.
I do note that if making calls with my mobile at the same time as the computer is being used that the person on the other end of the phone notices some distortion and clipping. It will be interesting to see how the public sure signals perform if a few people use them at the same time, especially on the up-link.

Author:  NickB [ Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

.
Interesting to hear about the distortion - I have not noticed anything and no-one has complained - but I am much nearer the exchange than you so it is possible your upload speed is not as good.

Remember if you have friends or family on Vodafone you can register their phone to your SureSignal.

Author:  Allan Coutts [ Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

Maybe I have a router or phone problem but I only notice this when another device is being used online at the time of calls and only on the up-link. Also...... and I hesitate to disagree with an Administrator, but I am nearer the exchange than you, probably!

Author:  NickB [ Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vodafone suresignal

Allan Coutts wrote:
Maybe I have a router or phone problem but I only notice this when another device is being used online at the time of calls and only on the up-link. Also...... and I hesitate to disagree with an Administrator, but I am nearer the exchange than you, probably!


Erm yes, true, you are nearer the exchange - so scrub that idea!

Make sure the SureSignal is at least 1 metre and preferably more from the router.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/